100. Advances in technology mean that many people today work from home. What has led to this change? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the breakthrough of technology has changed people’s lives to perform different activities. One of them is allowing workforce to commit their duties and responsibilities from home. This trend significantly increases due to the advanced networking systems. It is a positive development contributing to maintain gender equality as well as to protect environment.

To begin, companies have adopted a higher level of digital network which involves the working manpower to work from any locations of the world. For instance, Vodafone is a well-known internet company in Australia, running its franchise globally. It not only has the employee in India but they also looks after the clients in Australia to assist with their inquiries. Similarly, Covid-19 pandemic connects people to their employer for work via the systems of Zoom, Microsoft teams and WhatsApp. This approach encourages people to be more productive while working from home. Therefore, this cutting-edge has tremendously modified the way people work.

On the other hand, it contributes significantly to the protection of the environment. If people start to work from home, it will decrease the amount of fuel used while commuting. Similarly, it reduces carbon emissions in the atmosphere. As a result, it mitigates the degradation of the environment. Simultaneously, men and women could equally participate in the job with the facilities of working from home. Most of the female have obligation to take care of their families and children which compels them to leave their job. However, the access to user-friendly technology promotes equality in the work by allowing flexible working hours for female.

Overall, the flexible way of conducting work from own space becomes possible because of the giant network systems. It brings numerous benefits by promoting gender equality and protecting environment at the same time.