15. Some people believe that governments should make laws about people's nutrition and food choice while others argue that it is their choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary world, most people are moving away from a healthy diet due to busy lifestyles. Some people think that the government should regulate laws for nutrition and food selection, whereas others assert that individuals should have freedom to decide their food preference. This essay will explore both views with a logical conclusion at the end.

Government rules on nutrition and food selection are essential for every nation. First and foremost, People should follow the rules on nutrition and food choice because it enhances food safety. For example, Sri Lanka Standards (SLS) enforced a list of regulations for food quality control to enhance the standard of food and it encouraged better eating habits. Although government rules help to reduce chronic illness using food safety labeling rules for processed food. In addition, it helps to reduce chronic illness likes illnesses like diabetic, heart diseases, and cancer then they can save the fondness of public health.

Secondly,individuals should have the right to decide their personal food preference, and the government not to impose their personal freedom due to several reasons, such as culture, religion and economic stability. For instance, south indian people are vegetarian because of their religion.in addition, there are a wide variety of economic backgrounds individuals who live in Sri Lanka like rich and poor. Sometimes, they couldn’t get nutritional food according to the government rules.

Although if the government can offer reasonable rules only for nutritional food, people can get healthy lifestyles with their personal choice. Therefore, the benefits from personal choice food options are limited.In conclusion, I hold firm to my belief that people should follow government rules for their healthy lifestyles.