(2022)Nowadays university education is very expensive. Some people say that universities should reduce their fees, especially for the less fortunate students or those coming from rural areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an ongoing debate over the dramatically increased Institution fees for undergraduate students; therefore, the public has argued for decreasing tuition fees for provincial pupils coming from unstable financial family backgrounds. Personally, I strongly support the statement as they face risks of daily need expenses and accommodation costs.

First and foremost, the high cost of accommodation for rural pupils is another important factor in persuading the university education payment to be discounted. This could be genuinely elaborated by the fact that the average graduated high school students, with an obvious objective in pursuing their higher education, have to move to the city by leaving their families behind and hiring a proper room to stay temporarily. Hence, they can save up enough to pay for accommodation fees sufficiently. According to the article posted on Facebook by a news agency in Cambodia in 2023, most rent rooms costs significantly jumped up to the maximum of 150$ per month which caused, especially students in trouble with financial problems.

Additionally, annual university tuition payments should be reduced to the contribution of the convenience of students’ expenses to their daily needs. To illustrate, those undergraduates who are independent of their lives have high responsibilities to hold the purse strings in order to pay for everyday meals, beverage consumption, and traveling methods for their school. It, as a result, leads to their stability in the financial situation in their schooling journey. As recently reported by a group of freshman students at Royal University of Phnom Penh, they raised their concerns regarding narrowing the money spent on daily unhealthy consumption of food and drink which gives severe health problems in return.

In conclusion, a huge amount of deductions from college tuition expenses ought to be offered to provincial students to help contribute towards their necessary retirement expenses for rented accommodation and everyday living needs.