24 Climate Change Although climate change is now an accepted threat to our planet, there is not enough political action to control the excessive consumerism and pollution that are causing this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree this opinion?

Climate changes such as global warming and various severe disasters have been threatening and endangering our environment, to mitigate this threat, governments of every nation in the world have taken actions and implemented political measures. However, some of the measures might cause damage to global economy. In the interest of economic growth and social development, political actions and measures are never strict enough to control and crackdown the excessive consumerism and pollution.

Deforestation is a major cause of global warming and landslide. To seek the maximum profits, businesses cut lumbers and built factories and industrial plants where there were once forests. Additionally, government initiates to develop and expand big cities by constructing immense public infrastructures such as modern airports, transportation routes in places where acres of trees were once flourishing there. It seems that governments don’t help prevent pollution and global warming, instead, they are doing harm to aggravate the problem of climate change.

Automobile of combustion engines is perhaps the worst type of pollution. For some countries governments have executed measures to promote the use of electric vehicles by giving fund rebate for every electric car sold, in the meantime, they have made attempts to reduce the consumption of gasoline vehicles by traffic controls. Even though new energy vehicles or electric vehicles have been around for more than a decade, the number of combustion engine vehicles still outnumbers that of electric cars. Governments have not done enough to ban gasoline-powered vehicles all at once, because it can have a direct and quick crush on the economy.

It seems that in every nation political or environmental causes must make way to lucrative businesses at the cost of sacrificing our environment.