A country should spend money on skills training or vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued whether the government should invest more on academic education such as university or skills and vocational schools in order to achieve realistic work. To a certain extent I agree with the former; however, I also believe that practical training is equally necessary compared to university, depending on the students’ orientation and career options.

On the one hand, academic study is beneficial in some ways. Notably, colleges provide their graduates with a higher quality degree, especially with students who pursue academic majors such as medical or dental majors. Furthermore, university students might have a wider range of choices in terms of further studies after a degree. In other words, they have chances to become postgraduates, continue their educational path and achieve higher level degrees, for example, master or doctoral degree, which might allow them to have more advantage on the job market.

On the other hand, I also side with those who believe that vocational training is essential. First, the most notable benefit of this form of study is the shorter duration of training which helps students to enter the workforce and make a living sooner. Moreover, practical skills being emphasized can bridge the gap between theoretical knowledge and realistic application. For instance, by taking apprenticeships at an early time, vocational course takers are provided with various hands-on experiences of their chosen professions as well as wages to cover their living cost.

In conclusion, while I agree that the governments should support formal learning at university that is crucial for multiple specific occupations, I also support the idea that a country should pay more attetion to vocational institutions as they are important for school-leavers with different intentions.