A country should spend money on skills training or vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the crucial role of education in our interconnected world, the question about governmental subsidy in vocational schools rather than that in universities is looming large. While I see some benefits of vocational schools for the improvement of practical skills, I counter this investment due to the long-term effects that tertiary education presents.

My practical argument against this greater investment has to do with critical thinking universities bring. Universities curriculum provides a strong foundation for theoretical knowledge and practical skills which improve students’ logical thinking. This enhancement obviously contributes annually to a large number of research and patents to the nation. We need not look further than the case of countries like the USA and the UK which lead in research and development due to their robust university systems. Additionally, tertiary education presents a more sustainable future. Recently, university degree has been highly appreciated and provides an edge in the interview or in the climb to professional development, ensuring the life quality. This is not exclusive to some professions like doctors that university degree is mandatory.

However, some critics argue that the priority of governmental backup in vocational schools is deserving. For people who are not academically-inclined, vocational schools are a better choice owing to their focus on pragmatic skills, then increasing their employment options. For example, countries with robust vocational systems like Switzerland have low youth unemployment. Similarly, vocational training provides skilled labor workforce to our market, lowering the underemployment rates. However, this line of reasoning fails to highlight the need to prioritize vocational schools over universities as both educational systems contributes majorly to the societal and economic development. Nowhere is this clearer than in Germany where its strong economy benefits from dual educational system.

In brief, owing to an equal importance of both educational systems, the priority in governmental subsidy is detrimental to harness all of their benefits. From my perspective, balancing investment in both vocational training and university education is essential to meet immediate job market needs while fostering long-term societal and technological advancements.