A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a possitive or a negative development?

Nowadays, some languages become more common in various nations. However, the others are less spoken compared to the past. Personally, I believe this phenomenon has both advantages and drawbacks and in this essay, I am going to present my opinion.

On the one hand, if a language is commonly used by people from around the world, it can make many benefits by promoting globalization. Firstly, residents from different countries can conveniently communicate with each other regardless of their mother tongue. Therefore, exportation and goods trade can be improved which lead to the development of economics of many countries. In addition, aboard education can be easily accessed by students who are good at foreign language. Secondly, a nation can boost its image by making its language become more popular. For example, English, one of the most known languages, can advertise the United Kingdom’s culture and tradition. As a result, that nation’s tourism can attract more visitors by the time.

On the other hand, the decrease of the number of people speaking a specific language can cause many long-term consequences. An ethnic’s culture can be eliminated if its language is lost. That of a country carries an enormous amount of cultural value since it consists of songs, poems, … Consequently, losing a language can lead to huge damage which can be hard to fix. Moreover, a person can be identified by their mother tongue because it can directly tell where they come from. By contrast, if the young generation can not speak their own language, then they may not know the important of patriotism. To be more specific, some Vietnamese teenagers unessentially alter some Vietnamese words by English words, harming the diversity of their language.

In conclusion, a language that is commonly used can brings a positive result. Nevertheless, if the use of that of other areas is declined, then it can cause many disadvantages. From my perspective, the government should take actions and preserve the country’s language as well as culture.