A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a possitive or a negative development?

These days, there is a tendency that a small number of languages have gained widespread popularity in the world, while many others are being less spoken. In my opinion, this trend could bring both positive and negative consequences.

To begin with, there are substantial benefits to society when many countries share common languages. The first benefit is that cross-cultural communication can become easier nowadays, which helps boost multilateral trade and cultural exchange. It is true that ones who are bilingual or multilingual find it easier to do business or work in international companies as their issues at work can be addressed and discussed thoroughly. Furthermore, by acquiring languages which are commonly used in business, science and technology, people from less developed countries can accelerate the process of learning from more developed countries. For example, India achieves such incredible growth partly by using English as their official language.

Despite the great convenience of sharing common languages, the fact that other languages are less spoken can bring several drawbacks. The first disadvantage is that communities would lose parts of their cultural traditions such as songs, myths and poetry which are not easily translated into another language. This may in turn affect their cultural identity, producing a weakened social cohesion as their values and traditions are replaced with new ones. Moreover, this trend affects not only the local culture within one nation but also the civilization of mankind. If all countries no longer use their own language but use the same one, this could gradually destroy the cultural diversity of the world.

In conclusion, although I believe the trend is inevitable in the era of globalisation, people need to have measures to protect their less spoken languages as a way to preserve their cultural identity.