A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a possitive or a negative development?

It is widely acknowledged that the widespread use of certain languages is overwhelming other tongues in many parts of the world. While this trend can be detrimental to some extent, I would contend that it is more of a positive aspect than negative one.

Admittedly, the gradual disappearance of minority languages acts as precursor to the loss of local cultures and customs. Such languages, in fact, profoundly reflect the ideas, beliefs, and ways of thinking of native speakers. It is inevitable that the extinction of a language can lead to the undermining of the cultural identity of ethnic groups or entire nations, potentially even erasing a particular culture from history. Consequently, the world at large and younger generations in particular will no longer have the chance to experience the beauty of indigenous traditions and customs.

Nonetheless, it is far more advantageous for people around the globe to incorporate a shared universal language into their daily life .First of all, this tendency can significantly foster global communication .In previous decades, the coexistence of different languages left people of various nationalities to encounter multiple challenges in communicating with and comprehending each other. However, when languages, ranging from English to Chinese, become ubiquitous, it is no longer arduous for people residing in different countries to socialize and work together, which paves the way for immigrants to blend in with the host country.

Another merit is that a large amount of money can be saved if citizens communicate together in one or two common languages. The demand for interpreters and translators which costs a great deal of money will be reduced .For instance, the Vietnamese government has recently incentivized ethnic minorities who have their own dialects to speak Vietnamese. This contributes to alleviating the costs of training teachers or hiring translators to translate these languages into Vietnamese.

In conclusion, although speaking the same language can bring about some drawbacks to local cultures, I firmly believe that this trend is more of a blessing than a curse. Governments ought to minimize the aforementioned limitations and expedite the use of a lingua franca between nations.