A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

There always have been debates about government’s role in social safety. The reason is that some people states that government should spend more money on the police and other defence instruments, while other people prefer to increase the budget for the social benefits. I absolutely agree with the group 1 that it would be more efficient to spend money on defence of the citizens, because social benefits will be constructed as a result of society’s progression. Meanwhile without the ability to keep the habitats in peace social benefits will have less importance.

The progress of society is a natural unstoppable process that have very low starting requirements. The law of demand and supply, together with Maslow’s pyramid law, causes the humanity to create more and more innovations as soon as the previous one have taken its place in society. The first step on the pyramid itself is the need of safety, that include the home and the belief in being defended by something. This results is the demand of government’s help in the term of making society peaceful, and when it is done begins the process of climbing up on the pyramid, hence creating technologies and other tools of social benefits creating. Therefore, when the spendings to the human defence are high enough, the appearance of social benefits is the question of time, not money.

In the other case, if the spendings on society’s safety are less than they must be, citizens might get in situation when the social benefits are not significant as they are in common. In the other words, when humans are in danger they are thinking on the ways to find the peace, leading to less demand of non-prioritized benefits. To illustrate, when the war between Russia and Ukraine has started, a huge mass of people in Ukraine found themselves in the front of the battle. As a result the demand of locations where they can stop being afraid of the war skyrocketed, in this situation it even was in higher priority than Internet connection, because there was no time to think about the Internet.

To sum up, the question of country’s budget division it was always controversial, especially in the questions if government should pay more attention on defence rather than social benefits. Some people establish that humans safety should be on the first place, and the others concentrate more on the life benefits. I find myself in the complete agreement with the people in the first group, due to the fact that social benefits’ appearance is a natural process that does not require a lot of money. In the same moment, without the peace over humans’ heads social benefits matter less.