A growing number of historical sites and monuments are being threatened by environmental factors and unsustainable tourism. What are the primary reasons these sites are at risk, and what steps can be taken to protect and preserve them for future generations?

Lately, many cultural heritage sites across countries in the world are being affected by the climate change and tourist activities: activities such as vandalism, throwing trash, and also natural disaster events. This essay will contain many factors that were causing the destruction, and how communities and the government should prevent and preserve those sites.

On one hand, the nature disaster appeared unpredictable: disaster like earthquake, tsunami, temperature change, and so on. It caused those events hard to prevent and the only thing we could do is reducing the damage or reconstructed the sites. For this condition, we only could use technologies to reduce the damage caused by the disaster but not fully prevent because nowadays technologies would not cover the effect produced by the disaster; technologies like giant sea wall could reduce the forces created by the waves and humidity controller could help prevent fungi growing in the sites. After that, we should re-construct the sites or repair the damage so it will look same as before.

On the other hand, unregulated activities done by tourist would also become one of the factors: these activities occur because weak regulation or surveillance. The communities must help surveilling some people and report it to the police if some tourist damaged the cultural site, it would help to reduce evil tourist. Furthermore, the government should build stricter regulation; regulation like high penalties and prison could prevent that behavior or even stricter visa for prevent international tourist that have malicious intent.

In conclusion, weak regulation and low surveillance rate make some people are being brave to damage the sites, the solution we must apply are helping to look at the tourist and the government should apply stricter law. In contrast, the disaster only could be prevented by people that have high power such as government, the usage of technologies will help to decrease the drawback of natural events.