A growing number of historical sites and monuments are being threatened by environmental factors and unsustainable tourism. What are the primary reasons these sites are at risk, and what steps can be taken to protect and preserve them for future generations?

In recent times, environmental changes combined with unsustainable tourism have put at risk the increasing number of historic places and monuments, and there are specific reasons that contribute to this, and it’s time to call them out.

The most fundamental reason is the human activities that significantly influence the places that are historically precious to us. One of the most underlying activities is the increasing amount of nitrogen and sulfur oxides, which are then released into the environment. These oxides are very harmful and have negative consequences for the atmosphere. For example, acid rain produced from nitrogen and sulfur oxides corrodes the monuments made from limestone and is devastating for such structures. However, humans also play a role in affecting these places as well. Tourists, when visiting these places, often scratch or scribble on the structures’ walls, which not only affects their physical appearance but also slowly weakens their foundation.

Consequently, these activities affect the structures significantly. Physical phenomena like acid rain may completely demolish the structures, causing a loss of historically important sites. For instance, a huge part of the Taj Mahal in India was seen to be completely damaged by the acidic rain caused by human activities. Unsustainable tourism also means that continued renovations caused by tourists visiting and damaging these places result in losing the original form of these places, causing a loss of the historical value that they hold.

In summary, human activities along with unregulated tourism harm these locations, and they must be addressed urgently by implementing strict laws for tourist places and reducing emissions in the environment, for example, by promoting the increasing use of catalytic converters in cars to turn harmful oxides into harmless gases.