A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that animals should have the same rights as humans, whilst others argue that employing animals is a necessity in order to satisfy needs such as food and research. Personally, I believe that animals should be not be exploited and treated more humanely.

A large number of people are showing interest in what concerns animal rights, shown by the growing number of vegetarians and organizations fighting for these creatures’ lives. Additionally, events with animal exploitation such as circuses, have lost their popularity. The government also contributes to this problem through the inclusion of animal rights into the law, punishing animal abuse. These are mainly due to the fact that animals are also living beings.

Others, however, still believe the necessity of utilizing animals for human welfare. One area to highlight is research typically done on animals. Researchers, particularly in the medical field, use white rats to test out side effects of vaccines and medicine. Another example is the wide usage of animals to test out cosmetics, ensuring that it is safe for human use. Their reason for using creatures might be because of their fast rate of reproduction, making this the same reason for using them for food.

Nevertheless, I believe that animal exploitation should be stopped, mainly because animals have nerve systems that allow them to feel pain – similar to humans. Satisfying our needs does not require animals. For research, alternatively they could culture the cells of human and animal or look for volunteers. In the case that animal is essential for human consumption, many plant-based meals are developed and sold.

In conclusion, growing numbers of vegetarians and the movement for animal rights prove that many people are getting concerned with animal exploitation, mainly because these creatures are also living beings. On the contrary, others still believe that using animals as test subjects and food is beneficial due to their fast rate of reproduction. I believe that the utilization of animals should be stopped because they are also able to feel pain. As alternatives, culturing cells, having volunteers, and plant-based food are some solutions to avoid the exploitation of animals.