A growing number of people rely on restaurants and convenience food (frozen food and packaged meals) rather than home-cooked food to supply most of their meals. What are the advantages and disadvantages of eating this way?

The development of society promotes the growth of “weight” of working. Hence, people are busier for their work and jobs. This has led to a number of people choosing to eat in restaurants and convenience food generally increases. In this report, I will explain 2 faces of this situation and give my own opinion.

On the first side, we can not deny the benefits, eating in restaurants and convenience food is more delicious and convenient. As I mentioned above, people focus on working more so they do not have much time to go to the market and cook meals. So that restaurant will do a meal and you can choose any food you like or you can order it and ask them to deliver it to your house. For example, my mom often buys braised fish or orders two servings of fried rice when she comes home late. It takes less time and money than preparing the meal. and you can do other things when waiting for the food. Additionally, It is suitable for people who do not know how to cook, and they can eat in every time and have more opportunities to choose their favorite food. So that, many restaurants or food stores are opened near offices or schools

On the other hand, it also has some disadvantages. Firstly, we can not know the hygiene or safety of the convenience food we eat, and where they import the ingredients, so you can face many health problems related to intestinal and digestive system when eating out. For instance, in 2013, about 1200 people had to go to the emergency room because of food poisoning from banh mi in Quang Tri. Furthermore, sometimes there are some restaurants that will process food to be too salty or spicy,.. or is not suitable for your taste; or they can lie about the price of food being higher by 10000 dong to more than 500000 dong probably. Or in the high-time, you have to spend a lot of time waiting for your food.

In conclusion, I think eating out in restaurants and convenience food is convenient for office people who are very busy or people who do not have enough ability to cook a variety of food. It will be fine if they choose good and safe restaurants or food stores.