A large number of people think that nowadays women should not work hard to earn their living; they should spend more time in caring for their families.To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people are of the opinion that instead of devoting life time to work to make money, the crucial role of women is to solely invest more time in catering for their families. Although there are some certain advantages, I disagree with this view for some reasons that are now further discussed in the following essay.

It has to be acknowledged that advocating that women should not work hard undermines their potential and contributions to the workforce. In the past, societal norms dictated that women primarily managed household responsibilities while men worked outside their home to earn money. This division was not only a reflection of the economic structure but also of the limited opportunities available to women. However, as society evolved, especially, towards gender equality, so did the understanding of women’s capabilities and rights. Today, women have access to education and career opportunities like never before, leading to significant contributions in various fields, from science and technology to politics and arts. History is replete with examples of women who have made significant contributions to society through their hard work and dedication such as Sheryl Sandberg, the COO of Facebook, launched the Lean in movement to support women in achieving their career goals, while also authoring the best-selling book ‘Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead’,further emphasizing the role of women in this day and age. As such, advocating that women should not work hard is a regression to civilization for severely underestimating women’s roles.

Furthermore, advocating this view is synonymous with perpetuating traditional gender roles, which limit opportunities for both women and men. Gender equality is not only a matter of fairness but also a driver of economic and social development. When women participate fully in the workforce, they contribute significantly to the economy, as studies have shown that with special chemical compounds in their brains, women often have better financial management skills compared to men. This lauded ability to control finances helps dual-income households achieve greater financial stability, ensuring more prudent spending, and overall improved fiscal health for the family. Aside from that, leadership and influence gained through professional success also position women as role models, challenging stereotypes and encouraging younger generations to pursue their ambitions without limitations. In turn, this influence fosters a more equitable society where gender does not dictate one’s potential, thus, paving the way for a more inclusive and diverse workplace.

In conclusion, the idea that women should not work hard to make money but should instead focus on family care is outdated and detrimental because it undermines women’s potential, and perpetuates gender inequality.