A longer prison term is a way of punishment for those who break the law is not as good as other methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Imposing sentences is widely accepted as a method to punish those who commit serious offences andsometimes as a correctional method. This approach may be effective, but we should also consider otherways to reform offenders.

The prison sentence may have a deterrent effect on either prospective offenders or habitual offendersImprisonment means that those who violate laws will lose freedom, a consequence that no rational persoris willing to take. The criminal record can have a lasting impact on their lives including their career. Theywill not commit crimes when they run out of money; instead, they will choose to find work or run a small

business to earn a living. This can help create a peaceful and safe community.While l agree that a long prison term may sometimes help us fight crime, we can consider communitservices as an alternative. These services can make some ofenders, especially those who commited minocrimes, law-abiding citizens, who can learn responsibility and realise the damage caused by crimes toinnocent people. If they are sentenced to prison, they will possibly make friends with other offenders. Theywill not repent or take stock of their lives, so they may reoffend after being released, which can pose athreat to other members of society.

We can also provide educational opportunities and yocational training for them, improving theirinterpersonal skills and job skills, It is worth noting that many juvenile offenders or first-time ofienderbroke the law because of a lack of social experience or low socio-economic status. Crime is no longer anoption, if they can find work and understand legal responsibilities. The prison can isolate criminals fromsociety, shattering their confidence in finding work and reintegrating into society.

Overall, I agree that the harsh penalty can deter crime, but it is not the best approach. Through otherehabilitation programmes, we can build a happy and stable society.