A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the new era, people are valued based on their wealth and power in the society while other characteristic like sympathy and humanity is not valued. I completely agree to the notion because people are chasing power as well as money to be as valued man and forgetting the roots of culture. A detailed discussion is mentioned in the ensuing paragraph.

To start with, rich people are more likely to be respected and heard in the society. They have the power to make change and decision in the world. They can use their wealth to buy the resources and change the outcome of a scenario. For instance, if a person from a wealthy family is caught in drink and drive case. They can manipulate the evidence, bribe the family members or apply for a bail and avoid the punishment abide by the law. Therefore, they can skip justice and again become a reputed member of the society.

On the contrary, honest and kind people are usually not respected and rewarded by the society. People usually forget the good done by other people. For example, honest faculties teaching their students the values of life are not respected and appreciated. Rather the teachers who help children to cheat are given incentives and other gifts. Additionally, humans are not able to trust each other because of the change in dynamics of the society.

In conclusion, humans change the fundamental concept that how a person should be respected. Back in the days, people valued honesty, humbleness and dignity more than anything else. However, I believe that today people value materialistic possessions and power more than the other human traits.