A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

The first things we notice about a person are the clothes they wear, the phone or purse they carry, what they do for work and even what kind of car they drive. All these are what can be concluded on a surface level.Traits such as empathy, goodness and spirit rarely have a say in our opinions on a person these days . But what makes humans so materialistic? Is it the laziness to get to know someone on a deeper level?Or perhaps just the lack of care?

These days societal standards have a much greater impact on thoughts and opinions, where from a young age it has been taught that “you should always mingle about with those who are both rich and powerful” it is this that makes the human race in the present, one with no desire and will to get to explore what people really have to offer. Furthermore, by the introduction and popularisation of social media, a chance isn’t given to get to know people on a personal level therefore, many are more likely to deem having material things such as number of followers and brand deals and trips as a measure of their worth and of those around them.

Through this society as of now will carry on to ridicule and criticise everyone solely on their social and financial status. However, this issue can be resolved but it would take both time and effort. For example, schools can start implementing classes during homeroom to teach students the right way to assess an individual. Through this we can shape a better society where personality traits such as kindness , goodness , empathy and honour are the criteria to what makes a person.Such a change can not only shape a better society but a more humble and down to earth future for all.