Accommodation and transport problems are increasing in many large cities. Businesses are encouraged to move to rural areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people argue that the relocation of enterprises to countryside has been promoted by issues of accommodation and transportation in big metropolitan areas. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this practice eclipse its benefits.

On the one hand, the argument that moving to remote areas is beneficial for businesses is reasonable to some extent. The first advantage of this idea is the change in companies’operation place can give rise to a reduction of over-crowding related issues. This is because a large number of employees will no longer have to move into city centre for work, which decrease the amount of traffic congestion and air pollution. As a result, transportation issues and house pricing are less likely to be problematic, thereby enhancing citizens’living standards. Another advantage is factories or enterprises relocating to countryside will create a considerable number of job opportunities for local people living in those places. By proving stable jobs for individuals living in rural areas, businesses can contribute to a reduction of crime and poverty rates in the countryside, which may foster the economic growth in rural areas as well as lessen income inequality between country dwellers and citizens.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned advantages, i believe that this idea might be associated with some negative effects on generating revenues of businesses. The main one is related to unavailability of resources. This is happening because infrastructures and human resources are not easily accessible in suburbs. For instance, manufacturing factories would suffer from insufficiencies of high-quality employees who often graduated from top universities in big cities. Furthermore, enterprises may have difficulties gaining profits when moving to countryside. This could be explained by the fact that diversity of potential customers is no longer available for businesses in rural areas. As a consequence, the limited demand of customers in remote areas might negatively impact on businesses’ survival in the market.

In conclusion, while there are some merits regarding improvements of living standards in cities and income gap, i believe that demerits of lowering businesses’profits that result from this trend is of more vital significance.