According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

Nowadays, a large number of people spend a considerable amount of time on the internet, thus spending less time with real people. Some argue that this is a worrying issue due to its effect on face-to-face interaction. However, while I agree that the internet plays a crucial role in bridging long distances, I also believe that it adversely impacts people’s skills and relationships.

To begin with, it is undeniable that such a development has significantly affected global communication among people. This is because, in the past, individuals used to contact each other via phone calls and email, which entailed a great deal of exertion and expense. However, this has changed greatly, and the internet has revolutionized the way people communicate, enabling them to stay in touch with their friends and families readily with the click of a button. As a result, human beings can not only reach people from other countries but also have cultural exchanges, exploring diverse traditions and customs.

However, I believe that spending much time online, chatting with others and joining forums, has a harmful effect in terms of real interaction with people. Although beneficial, it leads to a lack of social skills, especially among the young generation. A clear example of this is that the majority of teenagers who spend much time on social media platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram, and WhatsApp, are more likely to suffer from a lack of real relationships.

To conclude, after considering the compelling arguments mentioned above, it is clear that although the internet facilitates connections between people from different nationalities and backgrounds, it makes it challenging to have real relationships. Therefore, I am convinced that it is a double-edged sword in our lives.