According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

The Internet has revolutionized the way we connect to others, providing instant access to people and information from around the world. While this digital shift offers many opportunities for communication, there are growing concerns that excessive Internet use may weaken our real-life social bonds. I agree with the view that over-reliance on online interactions can reduce the quality of in-person relationship both mentally and physically.

On the one hand, excessive use of the Internet wastes valuable time otherwise would be spent on family and friends. More time online leaves less opportunities for real-life which can hamper relationship with friends. This shift of focus from face-to-face discussion to online exchange often lacked depth and interaction, which can affect individual’s ability to perform normal conversation. Family relationships can also suffer as members feel being disrespected when screen time replaces meaningful family activities. For instance, children born from 2010 onwards are relied on iPads to keep them amusing while exhibiting violent behavior toward their parents. This causes significant issues as online communication fails to deliver emotional experience.

In addition, the over-reliance on Internet can weaken essential social skills. Digital interaction fails to convey non-verbal communication such as body language and eyes contact. This can make people less confident and comfortable in normal circumstances as they are used to online environment. For example, some people will struggle to maintain eyes contact to opponent’s eyes during formal meeting because they are accustomed to online text message. Furthermore, constant exposure to screen may decrease emotional understanding due to the lack of physical appearance. As a result, users may feel awkward when communicate in real life, which can take a toll on their mental health.

Lastly, using the internet excessively increases the risk of developing health issues. Prolonged screen time causes eyes strain, back pain and other problems. The sedentary lifestyle of long hours of online continuously often lead to more severe problem like obesity and depression. Recent studies show young people spend over 7 hours daily interacting with screens, from smartphones to computers and TVs. This heavy screen engagement has detrimental physical and mental health consequences, including higher BMIs, insomnia, anxiety, and depression. Constant exposure to digital life disrupts biological activities and abnormal sleep patterns, which lead to serious health degradation.

In conclusion, while Internet offers global connection, excessive use of it can harm face-to-face engagement and raise health concerns. The impact on family relationship, social skills and both physical and mental health should be balanced between online and offline. Individuals should consider carefully the negative aspects of screen time to ensure their overall health and strengthen their connections.