"Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?"

Nowadays, many senior citizens have difficulties making use of technological advances of the contemporary world. This essay will discuss how technology can be useful for older people and how they can be fostered to utilize these innovations.

Technology has many advantages to offer to the elderly. First of all, technologies can improve older people’s quality of life by bringing novelty that makes life easier. This is because technological advancements enable seniors to carry out their daily works remotely. By this I mean, thanks to technology, older individuals can purchase not only the products they need, but also medicines from abroad. As a result, they can accomplish many tasks with their phones or online programs without depending on others. In addition to this, seniors can stay in touch with their loved ones via phone despite distances, which in turn, provides them with emotional support. To justify all said above, recent stories in the media highlighted that, during the pandemic period in 2020, increasing number of seniors benefited from online shopping and were able to connect with family members.

There are several ways to increase usage of technological devices among older citizens. I believe that the most effective way is education. This is due to the fact that education plays a key role in enhancing elderly individuals’ knowledge about technology and breaking their prejudices against devices. Therefore, government or non-governmental organizations can organize courses to encourage aged citizens to take advantage of modern gadgets by teaching them how to use them. For instance, research indicates that after arranged trainings the number of elderly who can utilize modern devices has significantly increased. As well as this, the government can influence the usage of technology by providing seniors with electronic devices, as majority of elderly are not eager to spend their limited sources on gadgets which they are unfamiliar with.

In conclusion, technology can make seniors’ lives easier by allowing them to perform daily tasks remotely and communicate with family members. In order to encourage the older generation to take advantage of mentioned benefits, the government can organize informative courses and provide them with free electronic devices.