"Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?"

It is an irrefutable fact that the life has progressed by leaps and bounds with the innovation in technology. Nonetheless, elderly people possess meagre knowledge about the usage of the internet and mobile devices, thus they face challenges while using it. There are a number of benefits that senior citizens can derive from technology provided that they are tech-savy. This essay will articulate the role of technology in senior citizens lives before drawing a plausible conclusion.

To commence, elderly people can leverage the mobile phones for entertainment purposes. To elaborate it, since majority of elderly people lives in solitude, as their families do not spend much time with them, so they feel boredom. The internet act as a great source of entertainment, as it helps individuals to stay in loop with latest trends. Moreover, old people can gain worldwide news through a number of news websites, which keeps them engaging. To exemplify, news 24 website, allows users to access real time news from different parts of the world, thus it keeps masses informed and updated. Hence, the above-mentioned example clearly illustrates how the technology can be used for entertaining elderly people.

Probing ahead, mobile phones bring convenience to people lives as it allows them to communicate with their families and friends residing in different parts of the globe. To be more precise, owing to the number of apps such as WhatsApp and Facebook, elderly people interact with their near and dear ones, thus strengthening their social bond with each other. Moreover, elderly people neither feel lonely and nor they suffer from mental illnesses. To illustrate, phone devices act as charm for elderly people whose children reside abroad and they communicate via social media apps. Thus, the aforementioned reasons substantiates how mobile phones play a crucial role in online communication.

To recapitulate, the essay clearly discusses how elderly people can reap the benefit of technology. It is evident that mobile devices not only allow individuals to stay connected but also provide them an opportunity to access the latest news and trends.