Advances in artificial intelligence will soon replace many human jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is becoming increasingly evident that artificial intelligence (AI) will replace many human workers across a wide range of industries. Though there are some serious drawbacks to this shift, I believe the advantages have the potential to foster necessary developments for the world.

One of the most significant disadvantages of human workers’ replacement with AI is employees’ sense of job insecurity and lack of motivation. Admittedly, when AI develops to the point where it can replace human workers, corporations require fewer human workers as they can use AI for higher efficiency. As a result, these corporations invest more money in enhancing their technology than paying salaries for employees. This creates a constant fear of job loss and reduces employees’ motivation at work, which remarkably decreases productivity. Moreover, this work-related change can noticeably increase the possibility of unemployment. By nature, AI is being integrated into the job market, which decreases hiring demand across many sectors. Consequently, graduates may struggle to find employment and earn a living, which directly leads to an increase in poverty levels across society.

While the drawbacks of AI on humans, especially workers, are indisputable, the merits of technology brought about can strongly outweigh the disadvantages. To be more specific, AI helps reduce workers’ stress. In addition to their primary responsibilities, workers often need to solve unexpected technical issues such as errors in the operating system of the company. When AI takes over these tasks, workers can devote more time to their core responsibilities. Another major advantage of AI is that it provides support for human employees. Specifically, certain professions cannot be fully automated; on the other hand, such occupations still require human judgement, empathy and interpersonal skills. For example, mental health conditions are often treated more effectively through genuine human interaction and empathy instead of a pre-programmed machine. Humans can capitalize on AI to look for help such as collecting data and information, which is essential for working procedures.

In conclusion, while AI can have certain negative effects on the future of the job system, there are more advantages to this digital shift. These benefits are likely to play a crucial role in driving economic growth and technological progress in the years ahead.