ADVANTAGES DISADVANTAGES ESSAY 1 Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often debated whether rise in the number of elderly people is beneficial, or only creates problems, though this phenomenon brings both positive and negative consequences. This essay will explore the primary benefits and drawbacks of ageing population, and argue that the disadvantages carry greater weight than the alternative.

Initially, a big proportion of elderly people creates a lack of workforce in the country. This can lead to a decrease in the economy. For instance, cases like this can be observed in Tokyo, Japan. In addition, a high number of senior citizens automatically makes younger generation a minority. As a result, a deficit of young people appears in general demography, which can slow the development of the whole nation. Seoul, and other cities of South Korea could be taken as an example, although this downside is observed in many other asian regions.

On the other hand, the deficit described earlier could be turned into an advantage. Furthermore, some migrational opportunities could soften this problem. For example, filling the gap with high-qualified young specialists can boost up the overall success of the economy. Moreover, that would definitely add some cultural diversity, which is usually considered as a good thing. The government is capable of tackling the problem with that mean. However, strategy like this is rarely reliable and stable.

In conclusion, there are some undeniable arguments for the both sides such as lack of workers and slower pace of development as disadvantages, and migration policies as an advantage. Nevertheless, I maintain that the downsides outweigh the benefits.