Advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Commercials are everywhere, it is an unescapable part of every person’s life. Some individuals believe that advertising is a beneficial part of one’s life, whilst others consider that it has drawbacks. Although some people assume that advertising is a good part of our lives owing to useful products being advertised, I believe that it is a negative one due to effects it can have on mental health.

On the one hand, many commercials are displaying products that can be useful for people. In order to make a person’s life much easier, many of these items are time-saving and do not require much money. This is a primary reason why so many people tend to buy these goods on advertising. For instance, according to the statistics provided by Google analytics, approximately 65% of individuals who watched an eye-catching commercial about a robot who vacuums instantly bought it online only for 20 dollars. However, I think that advertising is bad as it can lead to detrimental impact on one’s health.

On the other hand, many people believe every word that is said on advertisements and they often can be deceived by them, as many commercials those days are persuasive and they give people an illusion that the products displayed are essential for every person to have. This implies that such advertisements convince people to buy more things which may lead to individuals having a shopping addiction. For example, according to a recent article published by New York Times, nowadays more than 70% of people suffer from a shopping addiction owing to a big number of commercials advertising their goods in a convincing way with catchy tunes. Therefore, I think that advertising can lead to bad consequences that impact on health.

Overall, people are surrounded by advertising and it cannot be avoided. Some people believe that advertising has its advantages, whilst others assume that it has a negative influence. Even though some individuals consider advertising a good part of our lives due to time-saving and affordable items, I think that advertising is a negative one owing to detrimental impact it may have on mental health.