Advertising today has a strong impact on people's decisions and behavior. What are the effects of advertising on individuals? What measures can be taken to minimize its harmful influence?

Nowadays, adverstising play a vital role in business discipline due to its effects to consumers’s decisions and behaviour. This essay will first outline its implications on people before proposing some methods to mitigate the harms.

To begin with, advertising encourages shopping which it makes many products emerge several times in apps of people’s phones such as Facebook, Tiktok. Especially, there are a algorithm in advertising that consumers will meet the advertisements of their concerned products or that of the same kind repeatively, thus promoting consumers to purchase. Moreover, an attracting and unique advertisement could make trends, which attracts many people and create a huge production. Additionally, being affected by advertisements can create financial burden on individuals. People are easily intrigued and do new, strange trends from social media, many of them virtually believe on the cases that advertising will bring to them perfection and the heights of beauty without estimating rational and carefully, thereby they might spend too much money on them. For instance, a young girl who always chase every fashion trends she sees on Tiktok will in turn pay too much money for clothes and jewelleries instead of reserving it for more essential things like food or commuting because she do not want to be out-fashioned like the advertiser says.

The key to reduce its harmful influence lies in both individuals and goverments. One way could be raising awareness and rational assessment from individuals. They need to comprehend that adverstising can be exaggerating and not 100% related to reality, as well as the cons of chasing immediate interests or trends without caring about the long-lasting values. Not only residents but also authorities should take action by posing strict laws for the advertising industry. Poor quality products, for example, with no clear origin and inspection certifications or toxic contents should be banned by moderators and governments.

In conclusion, while advertising can create either good or bad effects such as shopping promoting or financial pressure, each person and also government should raise awareness and moderate carefully to mitigate the harms.