All Children should study a foreign language, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Learning foreign languages has garnered increasing attention in contemporary society, sparking debates on its effects. Some people state that learning foreign languages is preferable at a young age. I believe that young learners should acquire a second language for educational needs and to secure a job in the international market.

In the beginning, young people should learn a foreign language to help them in their educational path. In other words, if a student desires to finish their studies or acquire an MA from a foreign country, they need to be able to speak a second language. In Egypt, for example, graduates who want to achieve a higher level of education need to apply to universities in other countries such as Canada, America, or the United Kingdom. This example shows that obtaining a second language is crucial for achieving your educational dreams.

Furthermore, some learners acquire a second language, and this is because they want to secure a job in the international market. When students graduate from the university, they try to secure a job with a high income to achieve their goals. A prominent example can be seen in Egypt, where many fresh graduates try to travel to one of the Gulf countries or one of the European countries to secure a job that can support them financially at the beginning of their lives or to cover their family expenses. These job seekers will not be able to do this without having a second language. Thus, it can be said that acquiring a second language is a must for those who are looking for a better lifestyle.

In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned reasons, it can be reiterated that the acquisition of a foreign language is crucial for the future of young learners, whether it is to achieve their academic goal or to secure a good job opportunity so they can achieve their dreams. I believe that parents should provide the balance needed for their children between exposing them to different languages and cultures, and also maintaining their national identity.