All children should study a foreign language in school starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or dis agree with this statement?

It is argued that children should start learning a foreign language at a very young age. I completely agree with this statement. Knowing a foreign language has various beneficial effects, both for the human’s brain and for daily uses. Besides, the best time to start learning a new language is when the child is still young and developing language skills.

Being proficient in multiple languages early in life helps creating a multi-language mind, ultimately makes the brain more accustomed to linking different information and recalling them. This effect can be seen in many people who studied three or more languages, where the experience of learning the third language onwards becomes quicker. In addition, knowing a foreign language also opens new horizons in the world of information. From searching for an online answer to your trivial questions to living abroad, a foreign language can improve your life in different ways.

So why should a second language should be learnt from a young age? It is because of how human brains work. While a child is still in his or her language development phase, when infants pick up a new language from their guardians, mastering a new language is noticeably more effective, and related skills are also more durable. For instance, children born in households with parents speaking different languages are more fluent in both languages even compared to experienced linguistic researchers, thanks to their constant exposure from an early age.

In conclusion, learning a new language since a young age provides various advantages. Provided that the learning experience is suitable for a young child, I firmly believe that children should familiarize with a foreign language as soon as possible.