All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Around the globe, countries are experiencing an issue with a growing number of obese people. Not only children but also adults are affected by this problem. While there are some reasons why more and more people are gaining extra weight, in this essay I will suggest two practical solutions to address this issue.

The causes are obvious to see. A major cause of obesity is that people consume fast food more often than before. Fast food usually contains high doses of sugar and fat, which may cause people to gain weight. Another possible reason for this growing obesity is a sedentary lifestyle. At work people usually spend most of their time in front of their computers, rarely moving their bodies. At home, the scenario is even worse. Having come back from work or school, many people collapse in front of the TV. As a result of these, both children and adults are fatter than ever before.

Turning to the possible solutions, an effective way to deal with this issue could involve introducing high taxes on food, which is high in fat and sugar. This can lead to higher prices of fast food. Consequently, fewer and fewer people will buy unhealthy food, meaning that many people will lose weight. Another way forward is for companies and schools to offer free fitness clubs to their workers and pupils, making them more physically active. More physical activity means fewer obese people in society. Clearly, we should tackle this issue using both these ways at once.

In conclusion, the causes of the problem in question are mainly connected with the way people live and eat. And the solutions lie with governments, companies and schools. In my view, action must be taken urgently; otherwise, our society will face even greater health problems in the future.