All parents want the best opportunity for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children specific skills but others think that having a range of subjects is better for a child’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent times, it is becoming common for people who believe that schools should teach children various types of skills, whilst some believe that a good number of subjects could impact the future of the young generation. I strongly believe that this trend can have a positive and negative consequence in equal measure.

There are various reasons why people think that schools should teach children skills. First of all, learning a range of skills can help children build self-awareness and it also helps them to be opinionated when encountering certain situations. For instance, children who learn the importance of social and emotional skills can understand their emotions better and know how or when to express them, this sense of awareness could help them develop good relationships in the future with other individuals. Furthermore, teaching kids basic skills such as household work can also help them succeed in all aspects of their lives, it helps them take care of themselves in the future.

On the other hand, there are also some positive reasons why schools offer students to study various subjects. First of all, not all careers can depend on basic life skills, certain occupations need foundational knowledge. For instance, if a child’s dream is to be a doctor, they need to study and understand the basic knowledge of biology, not only that, they also need a strong foundation of mathematics. Therefore, for children to achieve their dream career it is needed for them to learn more complex topics in life. In my opinion, there is no right or wrong, only study skills or complex subjects, by the end of the day it is up to the students and what they’re passionate to learn about.

In conclusion, although it seems sensible for schools to focus on teaching kids subjects or skills, it will still come down to the students itself, and they have the right to study whatever they want.