All should be banned and electric cars should replace them. Do you agree or disagree?

All cars that burn fossil fuel must be prohibited and be replaced by electric vehicles. While some concerns related to consumer choice may arise, I largely agree with this view because it can reduce the negative environmental impacts posed by traditional cars.

One major advantage electric cars is the reduced exhaust fumes. Since electric cars emit little carbon footprint, they hardly pollute air. This, in turn, could reduce the risks of chronic illnesses related to air pollution and mitigate the climate change. In addition, electric cars eliminates dependency on oil and gas, addressing vulnerability to volatile changes in fuel prices. Over time, this transition may also decrease the extraction of fossil fuels due to the reduced demand, further contributing to the environment.

Another significant benefit is the potential increased affordability of vehicles. If government push for the transition, they are likely to provide subsidies and exempt tariffs for electric cars. Consequently, unlike petrol or diesel-engined cars, which have fewer such supports, electric cars could become cheaper. This would encourage low- and-middle households to own cars, which fosters personal mobility.

Admittedly, eliminating fossil fuel cars limit individuals’ choice, who might be more inclined to buy petrol or diesel engined vehicles. However, this issue is relatively minor compared to the substantial environmental benefits of electric cars. The environmental degredation and the rising rates of chronic diseases, which fossil fueled cars play important role, should be alleviated through taking decisive actions.

In conclusion, despite some drawbacks related to consumer choice, the replacement of conventional cars by their electric couterparts is essential in terms of the ecological benefits.