All university undergraduate courses should include a period of time spent studying abroad or doing a work placement. Do you think the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that all university undergraduates should spend a period abroad or doing a work placement, which is involved in the curriculum. I believe that benefits outweigh the drawbacks even though they are several.

On the one hand, many students cannot afford studying abroad. To illustrate, some students spend their last savings to pay the university fees and they do not have enough money to study in a foreign country as they do not have an appropriate job yet. In addition, a considerable number of parents, particularly parents of a daughter do not allow them to spend a cross-border education as they do not want their child be far away from them. Moreover, a work placement often does not provide a salary, which can cause motivation to wane over time. For instance, scientists evident that getting a salary boosts an immune system and motivates to work harder but undergraduate students do not have a salary, and they loose their motivation while working.

On the other hand, there are a multitude of advantages of working and spending a semester abroad. To illustrate, it is crucial to foster critical thinking and getting vital experience for students, and this course is one of the biggest opportunities to get that. Additionally, working in teams foster networking and soft skills. For example, undergraduates learn how to communicate and work with colleges adequately and this leads to students who are able to communicate with everyone even in tough situations. Furthermore, many work placements offer a long-term job after their graduation from university, and this gives undergraduates a sense of safety when they think of their employment. For instance, if learners work hard during their work session, they can get a well- paid job, and advance in that company.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of working and studying abroad. However, I think that benefits outweigh the drawbacks in many cases.