Although fossil fuels remain the primary source of energy, some nations are promoting the use of renewable alternatives. Is this shift a positive or negative development?

Given the deterioration of today’s environmental quality attributable to the combustion of fossil fuels, a host of countries have concentrated on researching more sustainable substitutes. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of implementing this new type of energy before concluding that this is indeed an encouraging development.

Granted, the critics voice their concern that shifting to power generated by sustainable energy may trigger adverse repercussions for national governments, overshadowing its potential benefits. To them, the transition towards this type of energy may require a substantial financial investment, which in turn would put more strain on the national coffers, overloading authorities’ budgets. As a result, it can compel governing bodies to reduce allocations on other determining factors, such as the infrastructure for necessary amenities and facilities and medical research, thereby reducing social welfare. Furthermore, using alternative power sources can be fraught with pitfalls, despite being free, abundant, and eco-friendly according to this viewpoint. Unlike oil and gas, solar and wind are limited by the weather and the time of day, which means that the absence of sunlight and wind can easily disrupt the flow of energy, making it difficult in meeting these days’ ever-increasing demand in power.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned drawbacks, I am convinced that the supporters of using fossil fuels essentially fail to consider the following repercussions. First and foremost, they often overlook the fact that fossil fuels have devastating impacts on the environment. This perception could be further clarified by the fact that clean energy alternatives undoubtedly minimize the environmental pollution due to its ability to release little to no harmful emissions which contributes to tackle the air pollution and ultimately enhance quality of life. Moreover, in the long-term, it represents a sustainable global resource, as it can be continuously regenerated. This is because, as long as our planet remains inhabitable, this kind of power can be naturally recommenced by sunlight, winds, and oceans. For instance, regarding Singapore, where more than 80% of their energy comes from sunlight through solar panels. These efforts not only enhance citizens’ quality of life but also solidify Singapore’s position as a global leader in sustainability.

To summarise, whilst it is irrefutable that there are certain hardships and obstacles involved in the role of green energy, I would contend that the upsides that it offers are far more significant than the aforementioned downsides.