Although it is generally illegal, physical punishment continues in many countries. Some argue that parents should have the right to punish their children in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

Corporal punishment is still practiced to discipline children in many parts of the world despite the fact that most countries have prohibited it by law. Some, in fact, believe that parents should be entitled to use this form of punishment. While I understand why some might be opposed to this idea, I reckon that parents should be allowed to use physical force to punish their children in some instances.

Some might argue that corporal punishment is extreme and should be outlawed. They share grave concerns over the negative effects of this form of punishment on children’s overall well-being. Physical punishment is known to induce psychological trauma, crippling children with emotional distress and chronic fear. This can predispose them to emotional disorders such as constant anxiety and rapid mood swings, hindering their overall development. Critics of such a harsh measure also point to social side-effects like alienation and poor communication skills. This is because physical punishment often leaves visible marks such as bruises and scratches, so children might be ashamed to interact with others for fear of being judged.

I, however, believe parents should not be stripped of the right to use physical punishment on their children. This is because this form of punishment is more effective than other methods of disciplining children. When punished physically, children experience pain, which teaches them to fear the consequences of their actions. For instance, spanking a child for using obnoxious language induces discomfort and suffering, triggering a psychological reaction. In other words, this experience is set in their subconscious mind, acting as a natural deterrent to inappropriate behavior. Besides, there are many instances where corporal punishment is the only resort. For example, children with severe addictions such as gaming, phone addiction, stealing, bullying, drug abuse, and smoking are often dismissive of light punishment and only respond to pain and fear. For such cases, parents should reserve the right to apply corporal punishment.

In conclusion, although there is a strong case against the use of physical punishment by parents, I believe they should retain the right to apply this measure. It is a necessary evil, often unrivaled in terms of its efficacy in disciplining children in many circumstances