Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies

The public parks are highly appreciated, but some people suppose these capacities may be better used for other goals like residential areas or commercial and economic centers. My own view is that I strongly differ with them on this aspect.

To begin with, the value of the communal facilities, where covered by many trees and grass, cannot be underestimated. For example, almost all current houses are close together, without spacious yards or gardens. Parks become the only natural place for people to relax and breathe fresh air. Especially, almost all parks are equipped with outdoor sports facilities so that people can exercise freely and have a playground for children. Therefore, beautifully landscaped parks would do more to encourage urban residents’ better health.

On the other hand, overpopulation leads to a lack of accommodation or the development of economic parks. Once they destroy all parks, the population will still increase. At that time, how will the government tackle that problem? All in all, the area to build parks should not be used to construct other purposes such as residential areas or to develop businesses and boost the economy.