Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies

These days, the use of public parks is cherished by some people; however, there are others who think that parking spots should be repurposed for the benefit of residential developments or becoming increasingly urbanized, fostering commercial expansion to stimulate economic growth. I strongly disagree with this notion for several reasons.

Admittedly, one underlying reason for replacing the greenery is residential expansion. This is because citizens cross-country around the world are demanding more houses as the population uncontrollably rises. To overcome this, cost-benefit analysis should be carried out to build more living habitats and replace the occupied public parks. For example, resource allocation to populate the uncharted territories can increase the stability of the economy. It all comes at the expense of leafy parks and lands to create an empire of success in the country.

However, urban green spaces remain crucial for both well-being and tourism attraction. With the introduction of more green spaces, the public would start to use them excessively to release their workflow pressure and recover energy. Therefore, recreational areas should be of paramount importance to the government, as they also benefit their economy through tourism. An illustrative instance of this is improving the atmosphere in parks to make them even more convenient and accessible for tourists, like attraction amenities or kid amusements. As a result, these enhancements could make a big leap in terms of the economy and health conditions of individuals.

In conclusion, although repurposing the use of public parks has some potential reasons, such as residential expansion, I believe that keeping the greenery is essential, as there are some benefits for the health of people and economic growth.