Although most people are richer than in the past, modern life seems very stressful, and the number of people suffering from stress is at record levels. What are the main causes? How could stress be reduced?

In contemporary times, on the assumption of analysis, majority people feel more strained, despite the fact they seem to be much wealthier comparing to the past. This essay will explore the reasons for this and propose some solutions.

One of the main causes of the problem is that population in previous centuries had much less opportunities, hence, they were simply enjoying things they already had. They weren’t suspected to have the highest educational achievements, attending the best universities, working at glamorous, well paid jobs, and at the same time having saturated life. Whereas nowadays, all the population is in purpose from our own parents, even society, which is later, concerns anxiety, and maybe even depression. The solution is for the people who are anxious about it, to get away from it all for some time, to reflect, and ask yourself “What do I dream about? Do I really need to achieve things, that society is expecting from me?” then realize, come again, and start from scratch.

Another major factor is the rise in living costs, and financial responsibilities. As the income increased, people are also spending lots of money to fees, education, healthcare, housing, and daily living. Many individuals struggle to keep up all those demands, living everyday with thoughts of financial stress and dependence. The way forward could be promote a better work-life balance. Employees should give good salary and weekends.

To conclude, although modern life became increasingly financially independent, it has also lad to stress and sadness. However, by using individual strategies, all these problems could be solved.