Although most people are richer than in the past, modern life seems very stressful, and the number of people suffering from stress is at record levels. What are the main causes? How could stress be reduced?

Even though the level of people’s life has become higher than in the past, the level of stress has not reduced. The root causes of this issue can be pressure of modern life and social media. However, there are some possible measures to address them such as decrease the work hours and decline the usage of socail media.

One of the primary cause of anxiety of these days is a tension of hectic pace of life. That is to say, to meet the requirements of modern life, people have to work long hours. Furthermore, unstable workplaces make employers work harder. As a result, individuals cannot build work-life balance. Another reason of this concern is social network. People, especially youngsters are keen on staying glued to social platforms, where people show up perfect world. Seeing this perfect virtual pictures and comparing to their real lives drive internet users more to fear of missing out (FOMO), hence to deep depression.

The possible solution for the government can be to make shorter work days so employers can build their both rofessional and personal life. For example, in Japan, the government introduced the policy, where people can have four working days, instead of five. Another way forward at an individual level, people should be more social aware and back into real life. For instance, instead of chatting through the messengers, meet in the cafes, and support each other not only with “likes”, but also with real conversation.

In conclusion, people in modern life experience high levels of stress despite their increasing wealth. Unless the government reduces the pressure on people’s life and individuals start to live self-aware, the rules of ever-changing world will damage people’s lives.