In many countries, more people are choosing to become vegetarian as they believe it leads to a healthier lifestyle. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The number of people who choose vegetarian or vegan diets is increasing steadily. Individuals gain an awareness about environmental and health problems. Therefore, this new perspective direct to choosing plant-based diets. I firmly advocate that it is a positive trend.

Firstly, Plant-based diets are not a new term for science. Furthermore, it is a commonly argued topic, many people believe that plant-based diets are not enough for the nutrituional balance. Although many people refuse to accept the benefits of plant-based diets, according to researchers it reduces heart disease, diabetes and obesity. For instance in Japan, doctors realise that a group of patient have an unbelievably good condition for their age. Doctors think it is not a coincidence and they do research and they find out that the group of people come from a same ethnical group. Moreover, they do not eat animal-based products. Furthermore, plant-based diets are a great way to reduce carbon footprint.

Animal-based industries cause serious environmental issues such as air pollution. Especially during the production of meat and milk, cows produce an amount of methan gas. Therefore, they are a major problem for increasing global temperatures. However, people have a great awareness of environment and they organise many campaigns to teach rest of the world. I think that is one of the positive trends in the last decade. Researches show that pollution and health issues such as air pollution and obesity may become major problems for humanity. In addition, many individuals have a vision they try to make a difference and become louder and it is critically important to our future.

Nowadays, many people prefer plant-based diets. Individuals gain awareness of health and environmental problems. I think that is a positive trend.