some people believe that students should be taught facts and information by their teacher, whereas others believe students need to learn research skills rather than factual information. Consider both of these positions

One of the most debatable issues of the modern era has been the way individuals approach studying as there are numerous opportunities for them to learn. Therefore, the opinions have diverged: while some consider students should acquire knowledge from their teachers, others disagree, believing learners should focus on evaluating their research skills instead. I will discuss the importance of both of these for better academic achievements.

On the one hand, the main argument for factual education is the reliable source of the information. The teacher provides students with organised concrete facts that are forming the understanding of the topic at the basic level, eliminating the possibility of misinformation. Moreover, memorising the given material ensures sufficient preparation for tests and exams. As a result, factual education becomes a foundation for every learning process. However, the great disadvantage of this method is the perceptual distortion of actual information due to the teacher’s own opinions and beliefs that could lead to misconceptions and mistakes.

On the other hand, learning research skills may be seen as a more beneficial approach as it not only provides learners with factual information, but triggers their cognitive skills. By making some endeavours to understand the topic, students go through a load of unsorted material and theories and boost their critical thinking skills. Doing research helps to develop a flexible mind that is able to think, make comparisons and logical chains of causes and consequences. Furthermore, independent study enables in-depth looks on the issue and provides students with freedom of choice and time to figure out what really matters for them.