Although sports events are very popular, violence at these events is on the increase. Why is this so? What should authorities do to prevent violence from taking place at sports events?

It is undeniable that with the development of sports events, the violence from these is also on the increase. This essay will explore the reason of the phenomenon and propose some effective measures that government should do to curb this issue.

One of the primary causes of this problem is the excessive emotional involvement of both viewers. A large amount of fans in a sport event come to support for their favorite teams, and when referee’s decision was unfair, their emotions could quickly reach to the peak, leading to some thoughtless activities like throwing bottles at individuals from against teams in the stadium. For example, a football match in 2013 between Liverpool and Manchester United had a very sad ending after the failure of MU. A number of fans from MU used a lot of verbal abuse to people from Liverpool. Another contributing factor is that some people attend the matches after drinking alcohol or beer. Therefore, they are not alert enough to understand their behaviors and had some conflicts, which can trigger the danger of other people in the stadium.

Fortunately, this pressing challenge can be mitigated through efficient work practices from government. Authorities could address this issue by imposing things limits before going to the sport match, especially high-pressure matches. For instance, the polices and security guards should check carefully what individuals bring to the stadium and their alcohol concentration. Another feasible approach is that enhancing people’s awareness about manners when attending a sport event as well as improving self-protection out of conflicts. When people view sports as a celebration rather than a battle, violent incidents are less likely to occur.

To conclude, there are several causes of this phenomenon such as the thoughtless activities and uncontrolled behaviors from some fans, government should raise people’s awareness and have some strict punishments to control this.