An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery for changing their appearance. What can be the reasons for this? Do you think it's a positive or negative development?

Cosmetic surgery nowadays is increasingly considered as one of the best choices for people who want to look more aesthetically pleasing. In this essay, I will shed light on the reasons behind this trend and explain why it should be seen as a positive development despite several potential drawbacks.

The reasons for the growing popularity of this trend could be attributed to technological development. In the past, physical strength was valued as industrial development was highly prioritized, overlooking the importance of appearance. However, nowadays, with the advent of social media, more occupations based on it such as content creators or youtubers have become prevalent , especially among teenagers. These jobs often require a good-looking appearance. Meanwhile, cosmetic surgery provides an effective solution by adjusting minor body or facial features to individuals who are passionate about this type of job but have not yet met the beauty standard. For ordinary people, undergoing cosmetic surgery could probably enhance their sense of confidence. In fact, confidence, which is significantly influenced by physical look, links directly to a person’s success in life and career path. Therefore, by escalating one’s self-esteem, not only could he boost his career prospect but also make life more enjoyable.

Admittedly, there are several negative impacts if people use this type of surgery too often. Overusing cosmetic surgery could put people at risk of health (at health risk). For example, excessive fillers infused in the body can cause people to be poisoned or even die because of their silicone composition. Moreover, the main goal of cosmetic procedures would definitely be the natural beauty, but to use it too often may distort natural features of a person’s body or face, making it look unnatural. This may not help to beautify but, in turn, be counter-productive. Hence, cosmetic procedures should only be carried out under doctor’s recommendations.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the trend of using cosmetic surgery is a positive development by boosting people’s confidence and career prospects provided that the use of it is limited.