An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery for changing their appearance. What can be the reasons for this? Do you think it's a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, an increasing of individuals are opting for aesthetic surgery to change their physical appearance. While there are some underlying reasons behind their choice, I firmly believe that this growing phenomenon may have detrimental effects on their physical and mental health.

Surgical procedures are on the rise. The first reason is that people are not satisfied with their natural facial features and crave to alter these features into their desired looks, alongside eliminating the imperfections of their bodies. This attitude is mainly attributed to the emphasis on beauty of modern society. Secondly, economic growth leads to the increased income of individuals, thereby contributing to higher living standards. Consequently, people tend to spend more money on leisure and aesthetics. In addition, a surge in aesthetic clinics and plastic surgery centers facilitates individuals to approach surgical procedures more easily than ever.

My own view on the matter is that this growing trend is a negative development. Firstly, not all cosmetic surgeries meet expectations, and sometimes mistakes could occur during surgeries. For example, Sun Feifei, a Chinese actress, was once renowned for her natural beauty. However, after several surgical procedures, she suffered from facial paralysis, which had an adverse impact on her career subsequently. In addition, it often prompts individuals to do some unnecessary aesthetic surgeries that may be harmful to them. As a piece of evidence, a lot of women and men undergo numerous cosmetic surgeries every year, just because they want to pursue the so-called beauty trends or look like well-known celebrities, despite devastating outcomes to their health, such as chronic pain, skin damage, or even vision impairment.

To conclude, this phenomenon is related to the desire for aesthetics of individuals and the prompting stemming from external factors. I strongly opine this development brings more harm than good due to its knock-on effects on humans’ health.