An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people choosing to have operation to change the way they look? Do you think this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary societal landscape, physical appearance matters a lot. The innovations in the medical sciences has increased the awareness of cosmetic surgery. Since, the accessibility of these treatments have incremented, it has been an emerging problem for the society. There are manifold of reasons, beacuse of which people opt for these types of surgeries. This has both positive and negative impacts, which requires a comprehensive explanation.

Some people abide by the notion that ‘Inner beauty matters’. They believe that someone should not judge a book by its cover and emphasize on the nature of the person. Proponents of cosmetic surgery oppose the notion, and believe that every person have a right to look their best. This fosters a sense of confidence as many people lack on confidence now-a-days. For instance, hair transplant for a balding men can be a holy grail and boost their confidence to a next level. Additionally, the sad reality of society is that, looks matters and people tend to change their looks just to be accepted by the society. A good example is colleges, most the good looking students have a long list of friends, compared to those with average looks.

However, there are many negative impacts in the society. Firstly, a fake sense of beauty is being advertised and no body is focusing on natural beauty. This creates hatred and has increased the rates of self-harm among youth. Altering natural attributes of a person for just getting beautiful is way too much. It is just going against the nature and promoting fake culture. Moreover, people get expossed to many new diseases and health issues due to these surgeries. These alteration will create a long term problem for the people undergoing the procedure.

In conclusion, it is imperative that use of cosmetic surgery just for beautification is not the right approach. The natural innate characteristics must be appreciated and society should judge a person with their doings, instead of physical appearances. Furthermore, the use of medical science should be focused on eliminating defects from birth, instead of enhancing beauty.