An increasing number of people choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The prevailing trend of cosmetic surgeries nowadays is largely attributed to influence of social media. This is a negative development as it fosters unrealistic expectations and poses significant risks to physical and mental well-being.

The primary reason behind the rise in cosmetic treatments is the continuous use of digital platforms. Influencers undergo various treatments to achieve the perfect looks to increase their followers. The continuous exposure of social media creates a skewed perception of beauty. As a result, many individuals, especially youth, gets compelled to this cosmetic procedure in order to look similar to their digital ideals. For example, In South Korea, young girls who use social media, and they get attracted to their digital ideals. Hence, they are prone to getting these treatments.

Such practices, are causing negative impacts on the young minds of individuals; as a result, they are inclined towards unrealistic beauty standards. These circumstances have impacted vulnerable masses, and they get attracted to the substandard procedures, which sound cost-effective. Consequently, they end up going to unqualified doctors that can cause chronic health issues. This phenomenon can further aggravate the situation and puts a psychological burden over the young minds. Therefore, young people often attempt suicide. For instance, the wrong cosmetic procedures have increased depression among young individuals.

In conclusion, the growing trend of cosmetic surgeries is due to the excessive use of online platforms. Young people are inclined to copy their digital ideals which often create an unattainable beauty standard. Such practices are detrimental to physical and mental well-being of individuals.