An increasing number of people choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is noticeable that more people choose to do cosmetic surgeries for many reasons. I think this trend provides both positive and negative impact on cosmetic fields and individuals.

On the one hand, social media play a significant role in this contemporary society, which provides the fashion trend on how to style clothing and wear cosmetic products. Hence, each year, celebrities bring up new fashion trends to the Oscar movie shows. These trends gradually influence peoples’ beauty standards. Therefore, people who follow the trends willing to fit into society to make life changes such as plastic operation. For instance, K-pop trends are highly influence Asian beauty standards. As a result, people are more likely to get cosmetic surgeries on their eyes, nose, and even reconstruct their facial bone structure to looks “perfect” for them.

On the other hand, these trends could possibly bring up the positive development on cosmetic operation fields due to the increase demand. In 2023, the health warfare institution in Korea, shows the data research on healthcare worker in cosmetic clinic from past decades were two times before. This indicate that the operation field provides the tremendous job opportunities. However, there are downside for the individuals who did the surgeries under inexperience operator. The operation could cost pricy and some clinics offer alternative service to gain money from people. Leading people with wrong procedure and not providing the post-surgeries cares. Consequently, people should choose the clinics carefully to avoid potential damage on their body.

In summary, the fashion trends from social media and celebrities shaped peoples’ beauty standard, so they are more willing to do the operation to looks good. The trends increase the employee rate in Korea is a positive development, but people need to select operator wisely to avoid mistreatment.