An increasing number of people choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, cosmetic surgery has become popular as more people decide to enhance their looks. While there are reasons which may explain this trend, I would argue that it is a negative development.

There are two main reasons why people increasingly choose to alter their appearance. Firstly, cosmetic surgery can help them feel more self-confidence for some people who feel insecure about their looks. They believe that changing their facial appearance and body can help them look more attractive and comfortable in social situations. In addition, many people undergo cosmetic operations to meet modern beauty standards. Many celebrities and social networking sites, for instance, often promote unrealistic images of perfect beauty, which pressures people to change their looks in order to be accepted by others.

However, this trend has more negative effects than positive ones. Choosing to have cosmetic surgery means that people have to deal with financial burdens. The cost of these operations is extremely high, and being too addicted to them can lead people into debt to afford operations. Moreover, cosmetic surgery can be detrimental to health when it carries healthy risks such as infections and scars. These complications can affect people’s overall health and sometimes can lead to life-threatening conditions.

In conclusion, although many people want to have cosmetic surgery because it helps them gain self-confidence and meet beauty standards, I believe that it is developing negatively. The increasing of such operations can cause financial burdens and posing health risks which affects people badly more than brings positive effects.