An increasing number of people choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Plastic surgeries has become increasingly popular in modern society with a great number of people opting to undergo various procedures, mostly to escape their actual looks. In my opinion, I think this can be a good way to boost someone’s confidence but it can result in very serious damages.

On the one hand, undergoing cosmetic operations has a significant contribution in uplifting someone. For instance, correcting a long term insecurity such as a nose shape or scars of previous accidents can make individuals more comfortable in their skin and become happier with their appearances which may improve their mental health and consequently they develop stronger stronger social skills.

On the other hand, this metamorphosis also has severe consequences, it’s crucial to understand the potential risks and complications that can arise. As it is a medical procedure it carries risks such as surgical complications. Even seemingly simple aesthetic intervention can result in infections, excessive bleeding or scarring if proper hygiene or surgical procedures are not followed. In addition, some patients may experience allergic reactions to anesthesia or medications during the operation, which can sometimes be life-threatening. For instance, a person undergoing liposuction or rhinoplasty might develop post surgical infections that require further treatment or hospitalisation when performed by inexperienced medical staff.

In other words, it may cause life lasting effects which can be very painful for a person to live with.

Therefor, changing one’s look can be a confidence booster as it helps to feel good but it still has its dark side with its many health threatening aspects.