An increasing number of people want to buy clothes, shoes and other items produced by famous international brands. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

A recent study, published a surge in demand of footwears and apparals, manufatured by high end fashion houses. The major reason of the spike is, the feeling of being rich, when one wears real leather clothings. And this is in turn negatively impacts the environment and also, bores a hole in one’s pockets with it’s pricing.

The feel of richness can be most felt, when adorned with expensive animal skin wears. The clothing brands whose primary customers are the Millionares, often tend to serve them with shoes, tops, pants and bags, made out of pig, cow, snake,etc skin. As the process of designing, acquiring faunas, processing their skins to sheets of material and finally adding finshings, it quite a lenghty process and requires craftmanship, the cost and time are both high and in turn makes one feels they have bought an exquisite purchase. The recent dress worn by CardiBi in Met gala was made up of rare python leather, costing it $1.75 million dollar which took 256 days time for creation and was the most viewed image in Google.

The drawback of these dresses, primarily results in animal cruelty and also, in the expenses. The animals are butchered or some are even skinned alive, to get their body parts, maily their skin, teeth, and hair. A news article published that nearly 25% of the killings are reasoned with them being utilized in the fashion industry. These clothes, when sold in the market are branded with the company logos, adding nearly 135 % to the original making cost, and thus being the most pricey possessions.

In conclusion, the negative results of the current trends in the fashion wear industry, outweighs the reasons for it’s purchase.